Concert overture in E, Op.12, Karol Szymanowski
Concerto No.1 for violin and orchestra, Op.35 (*), Karol Szymanowski
Francisco García Fullana violin
– –
Daphis et Chloè. Suites I y II, Maurice Ravel
(*) First performance by the OFM

1.20 h (w/intermission)
Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

The Polish composer Karol Szymanowski wrote the Concert overture in E major, Op.12 in 1905, which in many ways turned out to be more satisfactory than the subsequent  Symphony No. 1. At its premiere in Warsaw in 1906 it was received as work that followed in the stylistic path of Richard Strauss. His Violin concerto No. 1, Op.35 was finished in 1916, and was premiered in Warsaw by Józef Oziminski and the city’s Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Emil Mylnarski. Dedicated to the composer and violinist Paul Kochanski, it was presented by the latter in 1917 in St. Petersburg. It follows a programme based on the poem May night by Tadeusz Miciński, although the composer declared that musical comprehension of the Symphony did not require taking the poem into account.
Ravel’s Greece of his dreams, which appears in his most monumental and overtly impressionist work, Daphnis et Chloé, offers passionate music full of sensual and exuberant harmonies written for a ballet. Based on the verses of Longus, a 2nd century AD Greco-Roman poet, that speak of the love between a shepherd and a shepherdess, it gave rise to two orchestral suites that at present are performed more frequently than the ballet, in particular the second one. The first suite evokes the encounter of the lovers, their courtship and subsequent abduction of Chloé by a band of pirates, whose threatening presence is announced by the French horns, and from whom she finally escapes. For this suite, Ravel used material from three episodes of the ballet.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.