Holy Week. A. DVORÁK


Holy Week. A. DVORÁK


Stabat Mater, Op.58, Antonin Dvorák
Berna Perles soprano
Karina Demurova mezzo-soprano
Mateus Pompeu tenor
Damián del Castillo baritone
Coro de Opera de Málaga
Choir conductor Maria del Mar Muñoz Varo

1.15 h (w/out intermission)
Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

photo ©Kreafotografia

Stabat Mater, Op.58 is an oratorio for soloists, choir and orchestra that evidences the extraordinary melodic and harmonic talent of the Czech composer Antonín Dvorák. It was composed between 1876 and 1877, years in which the composer’s three young children  died. The feeling of loss is often considered to have been the musician’s main reason to write a piece of such profound religious sense. It originally had seven movements in its draft for piano, which later increased to ten in the final version. It is based on the pious hymn of Pope Innocent III, in turn inspired by a 13th century poetic prayer attributed to the Franciscan brother Jacopone da Todi, which consists of a meditation on the suffering of Mary during the crucifixion of her son Jesus Christ.
It premiered with great success on the 23rd of December, 1880, at the Prague National Theatre. Dedicated to the Prague Music Society, it was published the year after in Berlin by the publisher Simrock. The orchestration consists of a pair of each woodwind instrument, plus an English horn, four French horns, two trumpets, three trombones, a tuba, an organ or harmonium, timpani and a complete string section.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.