Concerto No.2 for piano and orchestra in C minor, Op.18, Sergei Rachmaninov
Josu de Solaun piano
– –
La procesión del Rocío, Op.9, Joaquin Turina
Sinfonía sevillana, Op.23, Joaquin Turina

1.30 h (w/intermission)
Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

photo ©Fernando Frade

Following the failure of the premiere of his Symphony No. 1, Rachmaninov fell into a state of depression which prevented him from composing for nearly three years. His condition was so severe that he had to be treated by Doctor Nikolái Dahl, a psychoanalyst who used methods of hypnosis to improve the musician’s emotional symptoms and restore his confidence in his creative capacity. The result of the composer’s recovery was his Piano Concerto No. 2, Op.18 which is dedicated to the psychotherapist in appreciation for his treatment. It was written between the autumn of 1900 and the spring of the following year. The first movement, the last to be composed, was finished on the 21st of April, 1901. The Symphony was premiered on the 9th of November, 1901 in Moscow by the Orchestra of the Concert Society, with the composer at the piano and his cousin the pianist Alexander Siloti, a distinguished pupil of Franz Liszt in Weimar, conducting.
Joaquin Turina’s poem for orchestra Procesión del Rocío, Op.9 was composed in 1912 and dedicated to Enrique Fernández Arbós, who premiered the piece with the Madrid Symphony Orchestra in 1913 at the Teatro Real. His Sinfonía sevillana, Op.23 is in fact a symphonic poem which is considered, due to its instrumental range, one of the most relevant works of this great Sevillian composer’s orchestral catalogue. It was premiered by the maestro Enrique Fernández Arbós conducting the Madrid Symphony Orchestra on the 11th of September 1920, the year it was composed. Of a descriptive nature, its three parts are a musical reflection of the landscapes of Seville.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.