Concerto for violin and orchestra in D major, Op.35, Piotr Ilich Tchaikovsky
Soyoung Yoon violin
– –
Romeo and Juliet. Suites I y II, Sergei Prokofiev

2.00 h (w/intermission)
Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

photo ©Lukasz Rajchert

The Violin Concerto in D major, Op.35 by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, is without a doubt the most important work of its class in the Russian repertoire. The composer began writing the piece in 1878 in the Swiss town of Clarens, where he had gone following his disastrous marriage to Antonina Miliukova. He considered composing the concerto due to his admiration for Édouard Lalo’s Symphonie Espagnole, with the encouragement of the violinist Iosif Kotek, who helped him with certain technical matters. It was premiered at the famous Musikverein of Vienna on the 4th of December, 1881 by the Vienna Philharmonic, with the violinist Adolph Brodsky as soloist, to whom it was dedicated, and Hans Richter as conductor.
Prokofiev extracted three orchestral suites and a set of ten piano transcriptions from his ballet Romeo and Juliet, composed between 1935 and 1936. The two suites do not present ballet pieces in order, and thus do not entail a linear narrative sequence. Suite No. 1, Op.64bis, premiered on the 25th of November, 1936, at the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow, conducted by the Hungarian György Sebestyén, and Suite No.2, Op.64ter premiered on the 15th of April, 1937 in St. Petersburg, with the composer as conductor.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.