Cello Concerto in B minor, Op.104, Antonín Dvorák
Adolfo Gutierrez Arenas cello
– –
Symphony No. 9 in C Major, D.944 ‘The Great’, Franz Schubert

1.40 h (w/intermission)
Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

Antonín Dvorák can be considered one of the protagonists of late Romantic symphonism, with an aesthetic orientation close to Brahms. His musical production for both orchestra and chamber orchestra has folkloric influences of his native Bohemia and of territories of south-eastern Europe such as Slovakia, Moravia, Ukraine and the Balkan countries, as well as of North American origin, from which he inspired himself during the three years he spent in New York as Director of the city’s National Conservatory of Music. His concerto, Op. 104, finished in 1895, belongs to that American period. It was dedicated to the cellist Hanus Wihan and was premiered at Queen's Hall in London on the 19th of March, 1896 by Leopold Stern with the composer at the podium.
Written for an orchestra comprising a pair of each woodwind instrument, two French horns, two trumpets, three trombones, timpani and a complete section of string instruments, Franz Shubert’s Symphony No. 9 in C Major D 944, “The Great”, was probably finished at the beginning of 1826. However, it was not performed until 1839, when Mendelssohn conducted a version in Leipzig. The symphony had attracted the attention of the musician from Hamburg thanks to Robert Schumann, who found the original score amidst multiple manuscripts kept by the composer’s brother Ferdinand.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.