Conductor Ricardo Casero

La clemenza di Tito: Overture, K621, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Violin concerto in D major, Op.61, Ludwig van Beethoven
Sergei Dogadin violin
– –
Symphony No.1 in C minor, Op.11 (*), Felix Mendelssohn
(*) First performance by the OFM

1.50 h (w/intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

La clemenza di Tito is an opera seria in two acts with music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and libretto by Caterino Mazzolà based on a drama by Pietro Metastasio. Its origin dates back to 1791. While he was composing The Magic Flute, one of his most famous operas, Mozart received the commission to write a lyrical drama on occasion of the coronation of Leopold II as King of Bohemia.
The Violin concerto in D major, Op. 61 was not the first piece written by Beethoven for this format. In addition to the Romances, Op. 40 and Op. 50, during his last years in Bonn he wrote more than two hundred bars of a violin concerto in C which have fallen into oblivion. The Violin Concerto in D Major was premiered at the Teather an der Wien on the 23rd of December, 1806, by the violinist Franz Clement, technical consultant of the work whom Beethoven admired, and was dedicated to the composer’s friend Stephan von Breuning.
Felix Mendelssohn finished his Symphony No.1 in C minor, Op.11 on the 31st of March, 1824. Like the twelve he had previously written for string instruments, the so-called youth symphonies, it is clearly inspired by the works of Mozart. Even though the symphony reveals Mendelssohn’s command of musical material, the young composer did not yet have his own inspired voice.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.