Conductor José María Moreno

In nature's realm: Overture, Op.91 (*), Antonín Dvorák
Andante cantabile, Op.11-2, Piotr Ilich Tchaikovsky
Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op.33, Piotr Ilich Tchaikovsky
Senja Rummukainen cello
– –
Symphony No.3 in A minor, Op.56, ‘Scottish’, Felix Mendelssohn
(*) First performance by the OFM

1.35 h (w/intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

Dvorák devoted the spring of 1891 to writing a series of three overtures of descriptive music that were originally known by the collective title of Nature, Life and Love. Later on the composer decided to divide them, giving each one a different opus number: In Nature, Op.91, Carnaval, Op.92 and Othello, Op.93. Dvorak conceived nature in close connection witih the notion of God, placing it within the sphere of pantheism.
Andante cantabile is a version for cello and string orchestra of the second  movement of Tchaikovsky’s String Quartet No.1, Op.11, which the latter adapted for a performance by Anatoly Brandukov at a private concert at the Paris home of Marie de Benardaky, with members of the Orchestra of Édouard Colonne and the composer conducting.
Tchaikovsky’s Variations on a Rococo Theme for Cello and Orchestra in A minor, Op.33, were probably written between 1876 and 1877. They reveal the musician’s taste for the galant style of the 18th century. Tchaikovsky gave them to the cellist Fitzenhagen, who was their major defender as performer, to the point that in his version he changed their order.
Mendelssohn’s finished his Symphony No.3 “Scottish” in 1842, and dedicated it to Queen Victoria of England. It is impregnated with a great deal of plasticity, stemming from the composer’s clear intention of painting the landscapes of Scotland with music, and elaborating its characteristic folkloric echoes. It was premiered in Leipzig on the 3rd of March, 1842, by the Gewandhaus Orchestra, with the composer as conductor.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.