Conductor José María Moreno

Don Giovanni: Overture, K527, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano concerto No.2 in F minor, Op.21, Frédéric Chopin
Anna Fedorova piano
– –
Spanish suite, Op.47 (orchestration Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos), Isaac Albéniz

1.50 h (w/intermission)

Program notes José Antonio Cantón

Very few opera overtures summarise so eloquently the dramatic content as  Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s overture of the opera Don Giovanni, which contains all of the elements that are developed in Da Ponte’s libretto. The opposition of two forces, namely the hero’s death as punishment for his evilness and his yearning to live, forms the contrast of the overture.
In comparison with Mozart’s concertos, in which the composer established a dialogue between soloist and orchestra, Chopin limited the orchestra’s function to the  introduction of the themes and to connecting the different episodes of each movement. In Chopin’s first concerto in F Minor, composed in 1829 and published as number two in 1836, the piano is the absolute protagonist.
Originally written for piano in 1886, the Suite Española No.1, Op. 47 by Isaac Albéniz is a musical journey to seven Spanish cities and to Cuba, which at that time was still a province of the Kingdom of Spain. In the suite, Albeniz adopted a series of folkloric uses and idioms expressed through the instrumental colour that emerged from a stunning pianistic virtuosity, reflecting the impressionist Hispanic character like no other composer has succeeded in painting with music. This polyphonic result benefitted from the suite’s version for orchestra by the conductor Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos in the decade of the sixties of the 20th century.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.