Conductor José María Moreno

Rosamunda: Overture, D797, F. Schubert
Concerto for two pianos in D minor, FP61, Francis Poulenc
Maria Männikkö piano
Pauli Kari piano
– –
Symphony No. 9 in C major, D944 'The Great', F. Schubert

1.40 h (w/intermission)

photo ©Pette Rissanen ©Mika Peltomaa
Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

Poulenc composed the Concerto for two pianos and orchestra in D minor in 1932. It was premiered that year on the 5th of September during the Fifth International Music Festival of Venice, with Poulenc and Jacques Fevrier as the soloists and Désiré Defauw conducting the La Scala Orchestra.
Written for an orchestra comprising a pair of each woodwind instrument, two French horns, two trumpets, three trombones, timpani and a complete section of string instruments, Franz Shubert’s Symphony No. 9 in C major, D944, 'The Great', was probably finished at the beginning of 1826. However, it was not performed until 1839, when Mendelssohn conducted a version in Leipzig. The symphony had attracted the attention of the musician from Hamburg thanks to Robert Schumann, who found the original score amidst multiple manuscripts kept by the composer’s brother Ferdinand.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.