Conductor Yannis Pouspourikas

Coriolan overture, Op.62, Ludwig van Beethoven
Clarinet concerto, Op.57, Carl Nielsen  
Pablo Barragán clarinet
– –
Symphony No.1 in A flat major, Op.55, Edward Elgar

1.35 h (w/intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

Inspired by a tragedy of the Austrian playwright Heinrich Joseph von Collin, Beethoven composed the “Coriolan” Overture, a sort of symphonic poem, at the beginning of 1807 in Vienna. From the very first beats the composer expresses the fascination he felt for the personality of Cayo Marcio Coriolano, who in the 5th century B.C. conquered for Rome the Volcian city of Corioli located in the south of the region of Lazio, according to Plutarch’s work Parallel Lives.
The Clarinet concerto Op.57 by the Danish composer Carl Nielsen is a dense piece of music in which the soloist instrument and the orchestra spend a great deal of time on separate paths, of which the clarinet’s is technically very complex. Written in a discourse without continuity, it was premiered by the Copenhagen Royal Chapel Orchestra with the dedicatee, the clarinetist Aage Oxenbad, as soloist and the admired Hungarian violinist Emil Telmányi as conductor.
In 1898 Edward Elgar had considered the idea of composing a symphony based on the life of the British hero General Charles George Gordon. However, he never did so, which did not prevent him from pursuing the idea of composing in that musical form. Having accepted the commission of the Festival of Leeds Committee to write a symphony for the 1904 Festival, he had to work with intensity, given the dimension he wanted to give to his Symphony No.1 in A flat major, Op.55.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.