Rebecca Clarke (1886-1979). Passacaglia on an old english tune, for viola and piano
Tomoko Akasaka viola / Josu de Solaun piano

Max Bruch (1838-1920). Kol Nidrei, Op. 47, for cello and piano
Gabriel Ureña cello / Natalia Kuchaeva piano

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921). ‘Danse macabre’, Op. 40, for piano 4 hands
Natalia Kuchaeva piano / Josu de Solaun piano

Ernest Bloch (1880-1959). ‘Prayer’, No. 1 from From jewish life, B. 54, for cello and piano
Per Nyström cello / Josu de Solaun piano

Dmitri Shostakóvich (1906-1975). Piano trio no. 2 in E minor, Op. 67
Anna Margrethe Nilsen violin / Per Nyström cello / Natalia Kuchaeva piano

1.30 h (w/intermission)

The "Macabre Journey" program plunges us into a dark musical odyssey. Clarke opens with her Passacaglia, a piece invoking mysterious atmospheres. Bruch, with Kol Nidrei, offers a deeply resonant cello and piano lament. Saint-Saëns makes use of Henri Cazalis poem to bring us his Danse macabre. According to the legend the poem is based on, death appears on the midnight of Halloween to call forth the dead to dance for him while he plays his fiddle. Bloch presents his brief yet poignant “Prayer” for cello and piano. Shostakovich closes with his Piano trio No. 2, where lament and urgency intertwine in a musical narrative exploring the extremes of emotional expression.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.