Conductor José María Moreno
Symphony No.2 in B flat major, Op.52, ‘Lobgesang’, Felix Mendelssohn
Maribel Ortega soprano I
Marina Pinchuk soprano II
José Bros tenor
Coral Carmina Nova
Choir conductor Michele Paccagnella

1.10 h (w/out intermission)

photo ©Javier Gavill ©Javier del Real
Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

Félix Mendelssohn composed his Symphony No.2 in B-flat major, Op. 52 "Lobgesang" (Hymn of Praise) for the celebrations in Leipzig on occasion of the 400th anniversary of the invention of the printing press, anniversary for which he also wrote his Gutenberg Cantata. Following the first performance on the 25th of June, 1840 at the Lutheran Saint Thomas Church in Leipzig, where Juan Sebastian Bach held the position of Cantor (musical director or Kapellmeister), it became very popular, even though it is seldom performed at present. In November, 1840, the Mendelssohn completed a first revision, and then a second one in 1841 for its publication by the prestigious publisher Breitkopf & Härtel of Leipzig.
The Symphony “Lobgesang" is similar to Beethoven’s Symphony No.9 in that it also begins with three instrumental movements, and ends with a structure similar to a cantata, with soloist voices and choruses. Likewise, the adagio is a set of variations. However, Mendelssohn’s instrumental movements, which share musical material with each other, are of a much smaller scale than Beethoven’s. Hence, the main theme of the first tempo also appears in the trio of the following tempo, and is present as well in the first and last parts of the final chorus.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.