Egmont, Op.84 in F minor (Oberture), L.v. Beethoven
Concerto for trombone and orchestra, Op.70, S. Brotons
Ximo Vicedo trombone
– –
The Firebird, K 100 - Suite (version 1945), I. Stravinsky

1.00 h (w/out intermission)
Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

The Overture of Beethoven’s incidental music for Johann Wolfgang von Goethe’s drama Egmont was composed between 1809 and 1910, commissioned by the director of the Vienna Court Theatre for a new Viennese production of the tragedy, which was premiered in 1788. The powerful and expressive overture is one of the last pieces of Beethoven’s middle period. It beautifully summarises and concentrates all the action contained in the play, and like the Coriolanus and Fifth Symphony overtures composed a short time before, is an example of the composer’s most heroic creative period.   
Salvador Brotons is a brilliant musician trained by the great composer Xavier Montsalvatge, with instrumental experience as a flute player and composer convinced that the avant-garde must merge with tradition in the search for tonal centres, chromatism, enharmonic mysteries and polyrhythms as musical stimuli.  The five movements of his Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra, Op.70 are an example of his ample knowledge of the concertante genre.
In 1909 Stravinsky received Diaghilev’s commission for the ballet The Firebird, which was premiered a  year later by the latter’s ballet company Les Ballets Ruses. The ballet is an adaptation of a traditional story told with a choreography by Mijail Fokine, one of the most influential classical dance masters of all time. Very briefly, the story is about the disappearance of the castle of the evil Kastchei by means of the magical bird’s enchantment .

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.