NOTICE. Start brought forward to 4:00 p.m.
Tickets already purchased for the show will be used for the new schedule.
Spectators who do not wish to attend this concert must send an email to
jguzman@teatrocervantes.es requesting a refund, which will be processed automatically as soon as service conditions make this possible.
Tickets purchased at the box offices can be returned there from the November 24.


The Marriage of Figaro, K 492 – Overture, W.A. Mozart
Symphony No.49 in F minor, Hob.I:49, ‘La Passione’, F.J. Haydn
Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op.93, L.v. Beethoven

1.05 h (w/out intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

The Overture in D major of The Marriage of Figaro, the first of Mozart’s three masterpieces in collaboration with Lorenzo Da Ponte as librettist, was completed on the 29th of April 1786 and premiered at the Burgtheater of Vienna on the 1st of May 1786 with the composer conducting seated at the keyboard.
If there is a single symphony that summarises the feelings of the first romantic period in the history of art that stemmed from Kantian idealism known as Sturm und Drang (Storm and Drive) during the last third of the 18th century, it surely must be the one titled "La Passione", which Haydn composed in 1768 in F minor and is numbered forty-nine in his catalogue.
Beethoven composed his Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op.93 between 1811 and 1812, writing the main core in the summer of 1812 during his stay at the spa in Teplitz, in Bohemia. Considered by some as the "little F major" due to its small dimensions, Beethoven, in contrast, called it the "Grand Eighth Symphony" due to the purity of its form.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.