Siete y ocho - SIMBIOSIS


Siete y ocho - SIMBIOSIS

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827) Septet in E flat major, Op. 20
Juan Crisóstomo Subiela Durá clarinet / Alexander Moustachiev horn / Antonio Lozano bassoon / Alexander Sitkovetsky violin / Tomoko Akasaka viola / Adolfo Gutiérrez cello / Uxía Martínez Botana bass

Felix Mendelssohn (1809 - 1847) String octet E flat major, Op. 20
Alexander Sitkovetsky violin / Alissa Margulis violin / María del Mar Jurado Jiménez violin / Anna Margrethe Nilsen violin / Razvan Popovici viola / Rumen Cvetkov viola / Natalia Margulis cello / Adolfo Gutiérrez cello

1.30 h (w/out intermission)

 Program (PDF es / en) 
 (Presentation, Málaga Clásica Talents, bios) 

What is more simple in smaller ensembles is far more complex in a septet in terms of successfully intertwining instrumental lines. Furthermore the combination of winds and strings in Beethoven's ‘Septet’ is innovative and exciting as these instruments have a very different timbre. Through several short movements this piece is of a light spirit and great entertainment. Its popularity greatly upset Beethoven, as he would rather have had his more “serious” works getting that kind of attention.
The string octet can in most cases be looked upon as a double quartet, being that there are four principal and four secondary voices of each instrument. In the ensemble two or more instruments often join together to play the accompaniment or melodies, bordering on the feeling of being a small chamber orchestra. Mendelssohn, only being 16 at the time, masterfully used the eight instruments in his ‘String octet’, which is one of the most played and appreciated pieces of the chamber music repertoire.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.