Cinco y seis – DIVERSIÓN


Cinco y seis – DIVERSIÓN

Johannes Brahms (1833 - 1897) Piano quintet in F minor, Op. 34
Alexander Sitkovetsky violin / Alissa Margulis violin / Tomoko Akasaka viola / Adolfo Gutiérrez cello / Antonio Ortíz piano

Piotr Ilich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) String Sextet in D minor ‘Souvenir de Florence’, Op. 70
Alissa Margulis violin / Anna Margrethe Nilsen violin / Razvan Popovici viola / Tomoko Akasaka viola / Adolfo Gutiérrez cello / Natalia Margulis cello

1.30 h (w/out intermission)

 Program (PDF es / en) 
 (Presentation, Málaga Clásica Talents, bios) 

Adding instruments to the ensembles gives room for the composers to brilliantly changing the texture, as well as giving more density to the harmony. When a quartet is joined by the piano, forming a quintet, like the renown Brahms 'Piano quintet in f minor', the piano and strings confront each other at times as distinct musical forces, but when enlaced together has an enormous power, while still maintaining flexibility. The sextet has similar qualities as the quintet, but perhaps leave each instrument a tad “alleviated” as there are now more instruments sharing the workload. A piece like the romantic 'Souvenir de Florence' by Tchaikovsky is as enjoyable and joyous for the players as it is for the listeners.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.