[The Tsar´s legacy]

Eugène Ysaÿe (1858-1931), Poème élégiaque Op. 12, for violin and piano
Jesús Reina violin / Antonio Ortiz piano
Henryk Wieniawski (1835-1880), Selection from the 8 Estudios-Caprichos for two violins, Op. 18
Jesús Reina violin / Anna Margrethe Nilsen violin
Henri Vieuxtemps (1820-1881), Duo Brilliante in A major, for violin, cello and piano
Erzhan Kulibaev violin / Gabriel Ureña cello / Antonio Ortiz piano

Ernest Chausson (1855-1899), Concerto in D major, for piano, violin and string quartet
Antonio Ortiz piano / Koh Gabriel Kameda violin  / Irene Ortega violin  / María del Mar Jurado Jiménez violin  /
Laura Romero Alba viola / Gabriel Ureña cello

1.25 h (w/out intermission)

 Program (PDF es / en) 
 (Presentation, Málaga Clásica Talents, bios) 

The three virtuosos Ysaÿe, Vieuxtemps and Wieniawski pushed violin playing to a higher level, seemingly with no limit, and left behind them a grand tradition of violin performing. Both Vieuxtemps, a prominent exponent of the Franco-Belgian violin school, and Wieniawski, the inventor of the “Russian bow hold”, were teachers of Eugene Ysaÿe. The latter mentioned was regarded as the “Tsar” of the violin, as his refined technique, sophisticated interpretations, ravishingly beautiful vibrato and sound was unlike any violinist of his generation. Even though their fame as composers was overshadowed by their talent as performers, still to this day, at the top of the wish list of current artists stands the exuberant pieces written by these legends. 

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.