Las siete palabras


Rafael Ruibérriz de Torres flute
La Spagna
Rafael Calvo actor

J. Haydn (1732-1809) / F.A. Barbieri (1823-1894)
Las siete últimas palabras de Cristo en la Cruz (1787 / 1840)
[The seven last words of Christ on the cross]
Introduzione - Maestoso ed Adagio
Sonata I (Pater, dimitte illis, quia nesciunt, quid faciunt) – Largo
Sonata II (Hodie mecum eris in paradiso) – Grave e cantabile
Sonata III (Mulier, ecce filius tuus) – Grave
Sonata IV (Deus meus, Deus meus, utquid dereliquisti me) – Largo
Sonata V (Sitio) – Adagio
Sonata VI (Consummatum est) – Lento
Sonata VII (In manus tuas, Domine, commendo spiritum meum) – Largo
Il terremoto – Presto e con tutta la forza

1.30 h (w/out intermission)

Rafael Ruibérriz de Torres and the group La Spagna have recuperated this unpublished version of Haydn’s The Seven Last Words of Jesus Christ, in which the author, the young Francisco A. Barbier, added a brilliant fifth part. It is devoted to the flute, which at times highlights, or connects, or sings a new melody, converting the original piece into an accompaniment, but without changing a single note.
Founded in 2009 by Alejandro Marías, La Spagna ensemble, which takes its name from a very well-known Renaissance melody, has become one of the most prominent musical groups in Spain. With a very flexible format, it is both a chamber group and a baroque orchestra that performs opera and oratorios together with guest soloists and conductors.  
La Spagna performs music ranging from the Renaissance to early Romanticism, with some foray into 21st century music, although most of its activity focuses on the Baroque. This diversity always revolves around the same principle: to offer a passionate, trustworthy and sincere interpretation that respects the historical and social perspective of each repertoire.
With Rafael Ruibérriz de Torres, one of the main exponents of the Spanish period flute, the ensemble forms a perfect tandem for this programme.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.