Antonio Serrano harmonica
Daniel Oyarzabal harpsichord and organ
Josetxu Obregón cello

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Violin Sonata in G major, BWV 1021
Contrapunto I from The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080
Prelude of Cello Suite no. 2 in D minor BWV 1008
Flute Sonata in E major, BWV 1035
Prelude and fugue in C major from the Well-Tempered Clavier Book II, BWV 870
Contrapunto IX from The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080
Allemande from Violin Partita in D Minor, BWV 1004
Violin Sonata in E major, BWV 1016

1.10 h (w/out intermission)
photo ©Noah Shaye

Bach has inspired all sorts of artists to make versions of his work or to perform his music with instruments that were not indicated by the master from Leipzig, or that did not even exist in his time: a trombone in a suite for cello, a vibraphone in a prelude of the Well-Tempered Clavier, or an electric guitar in a violin partita.
The piano has already been naturalised in Bach’s music, even though he never composed anything for that instrument; just for the harpsichord. The use of the harmonica in this concert to fill in as a violin is initially surprising, but immediately flows and sounds just as natural. This is the “new Bachian sound” proposed by Antonio Serrano, a master of harmonica, together with two outstanding figures of ancient music.
HBE consists of three musicians of international renown in the field of their respective instruments. Antonio Serrano, an excellent performer of chromatic harmony, is considered one of the best mouth organists of our times. Daniel Oyarzábal is a prominent international harpsichord player and organist of the Spanish National Orchestra. Josetxu Obregón is a cellist, founder and director of La Ritirata, professor of the Royal Conservatory of Music of Madrid, and winner of more than 13 prizes in national and international competitions.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.