ROCÍO MOLINA. Inicio (Uno)


ROCÍO MOLINA. Inicio (Uno)

*(30 and 31 July performances)  Refund of tickets and sale of performances with new seating capacity.
The cost of tickets sold on-line and by telephone has been automatically repaid to the account from which payment was made. Tickets bought in the box offices will be refunded at the box office from July 23.
Tickets for Inicio (Uno) and Al fondo riela (Lo otro del Uno) are now priced at a single price of 30€ (usual discounts do not apply).

v30  Trilogía sobre la guitarra. Inicio (Uno)
[Trilogy about the guitar. Beginning (Oneself)]
s31  Trilogía sobre la guitarra. Al fondo riela (Lo otro del Uno)
[Trilogy about the guitar. At the Bottom Shimmer (The Other Self)]

Trilogía sobre la guitarra. Inicio (Uno)
Original idea, artistic direction and choreography Rocío Molina
Original music Rafael Riqueni
Dancer Rocío Molina
Guitar Rafael Riqueni
Production Danza Molina S.L.
Rocío Molina is an associate artist of Chaillot Théâtre National de la Danse de Paris

1.05 h (w/out intermission)

photo ©Pilar Lozano Iglesias (plasticocruel) ©Oscar Romero ©Simone Fratini

Trilogía sobre la guitarra is an on-going project articulated around three pieces which have a consecutive relationship but are separate shows. The proposal is enhanced when it is presented together, as it is the result of the same research concerning the essential elements of the triangle of flamenco with the objective of developing a series of pieces that offer a thorough study of the guitar. This trilogy about the guitar will be closed with a later piece, Vuelta a Uno [Back to Oneself], in which the instrument and dance enter into contact with singing, the last angle of the traditional flamenco pyramid.

“I’ve been trying for a long time to put movement on hold to reach a natural depth. With Riqueni, my dancing retrieves its nature; it’s like going back, as if I heard the music for the first time and my body language arises without any effort or complication.” Rocío Molina
Below the slow passing of the clouds, dressed in spotless white and stripped of any affectation, Rocío Molina gives in to Rafael Riqueni’s guitar in an intimate and poetic dialogue, gentle and surrealistic. Clapping and dancing merge in a whole that has not yet divided, as if the music danced by the master’s hands rose from the dancer’s body.
Inicio (Uno) is a tribute to a virtuous guitar that breathes an original movement, both new and primitive, into the dancer. A journey to the essence in which Rocío Molina discovers herself and rediscovers Riqueni’s music. A delicate choreographic score which passes from the luminosity of paradise evoked by. ‘Parque de María Luisa’ to the crepuscular beauty of ‘Amargura’.

Rocío Molina has coined her own language founded on the reinvented tradition of flamenco that respects its essence and embraces the avant-garde. Radically free, her pieces combine technical virtuosity, contemporary research and conceptual risk. Born in Malaga in 1984, she is one of the Spanish artists with the most international repercussion. The 2010 National Dance Award, the National British Dance Awards, the 2019, 2017 and 2015 Max Awards, the Giraldillo Prize for best dancer at the Biennial of Seville and the Malaga Gold Medal are some of the acknowledgements obtained in the course of her professional career.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.